This, Too, Shall Pass

Wow, after five weeks in the US for holiday time with the family, we are grateful to be back in Indonesia, where the air is significantly warmer and not a single snowflake in sight — anywhere! Yet, we certainly appreciated the opportunity to visit with family and friends in our three different locations during the visit.

img_2488

Fun with my family at Christmas in soon to be snowed-in North Dakota

Our stop in the upper midwest gave us our fill of winter and cold temperatures. Following -30 deg F in Minnesota, we were greeted by 12-15 inches of snow and  a blizzard on Christmas Day in North Dakota. We did our best to stay warm as winter tried to give us its best shot. I was doing fine until I opted to assist my family in digging out from the snow. After some shoveling and slipping on a patch of ice, I dislodged a kidney stone that gave me enough grief that I had to visit the emergency room in Bismarck. In the middle of the holidays and the aftermath of the blizzard, I could not deal with this problem there. It would have to wait until I got back to Jakarta. With the pain medications, a return to the “warmer” climate of California, and some exercise, I could complete the rest of the visit relatively pain-free.

Now that we are back in Jakarta after the new year, I have had more work done to resolve the kidney stone. Too large to pass on its own, I underwent a procedure that broke up the stone into many small pieces, much like sand. After about 90 minutes, the stone disappeared, indicating success. After this, it’s a matter of getting rid of what I call “the leftovers”. My kidney also swelled from the experience, so I’m likewise hopeful that the kidney will return to normal eventually. Under the urologist’s care here in Jakarta, I’m drinking plenty of water!

kyrgyzstan-tx-winter-2

FEBC broadcasts continue despite Kyrgyzstan winter

As FEBC keeps on expanding its ministry across Asia, it’s inevitable that some of our radio stations will be outside the warmth of the tropics. With the reminder of the winter in the US firmly in my memory, I learned about progress made with the growing FM radio network across Kyrgyzstan. Rushing to beat the approaching winter with its snow and wind, FEBC’s local team was able to install the third transmitter in the network in the middle of October, 2016. Winter comes early to these parts, but we are grateful the team could reach the mountain transmitter site before the snow came. Another region of this central Asian country now has the opportunity to hear the gospel. I encourage you to hear the whole story from the FEBC website. Please select this link for video and photos that tell the story of getting this newest transmitter up and running. I am grateful to see projects like these completed so more people can hear the story of Jesus.

Posted on 24 January, 2017, in temp. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

